Worlds Best Cookie: Healthified

I remember when I was a kid, there were these cookies that I loved that my mom wouldn’t make.  Someone called the cowpie cookies, which might be why she refused to make them. I didn’t care what they were called, they were chocolately nutty goodness.

I had a craving for something sweet and good tonight, and I wandered the Safeway aisles for probably thirty minutes debating between the $2 box of brownie mix and the $4 carton of butter pecan ice cream. Neither was really putting stars in my eyes and I was hungry and my dog was in the car and, well, as often happens when I’m shopping, I got frustrated with my own indecision and I left.

I got home and thought about those cookies. I looked up a couple of recipes. I didn’t have anywhere close to all the right ingredients.  I found one that was close.

Here’s what I did.

3 TBS of butter (rough guess)

1/4 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. honey

1/4 c. buttermilk

1/4 c. natural peanut butter

dash salt

3 TBS-ish toasted almonds

1 1/2 c. oats

1/2 c. pumpkin seeds (raw) again, this is a rough guess, I just tossed in what I had

1/2 c. sunflower seeds (see above–no idea if that’s an accurate measurement)

Melt the butter, add the sugar type substances, add some liquid (I thought about adding the cold leftover coffee I had for a mocha like cookie), add the grainy nutty things, mix. Spoon onto cookie sheet. Put in fridge.

I have only had the yumminess at the bottom of the pan, but let me tell you. This is heaven.

 

 

 

 

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. sounds pretty good — I could like these!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

